The river

A massive, powerful, majestic river flows unimpeded… unblinking…

A leaf falls from the branch of an overhanging tree onto the surface of the water, and is swept downstream. The river, noticing this leaf, admires its beauty and begins to identify itself with it.

“What a wonder of beauty is this leaf,” says the river. “It is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.”

After a few days, the river says, “This is my leaf. I must carry it with great care. I must ensure that it never gets lost. Or stolen. It would break my heart to see it go!”

A few days later, the river says, “I am a leaf! I am the most beautiful leaf EVER! Those ;leaves up in the trees are no match for my beauty! My color… my curves… everything about me is perfect! I am the perfect leaf! To protect my beauty, I must be very careful. I must avoid getting wet!”

Just then, a crow swoops down over the water and plucks the out the leaf, carrying it away, into the sunset.

The river sobs. “I have died! I am no longer! Who AM I if not the most beautiful leaf in the world?”

Meanwhile, all the animals, trees, clouds, mountains… all of creation kneels with reverence, bowing to the limitless power of the life-giving river.

Remember: You are the river. Always. You are not the physical body. You are the limitless Source of all love and life.

Remember.

Leave a comment

Filed under Living a joyful life

Leave a Reply

