Guitars, amplifiers, and soup

Why on earth am I writing about soup on my music blog?

Mainly, because I want to live a balanced life. Music is part of my daily existence. But it doesn’t make up 100% of my day. Or week. Or year.

The more balance I maintain, the better my music’s going to be. And the more deeply I’ll be able to appreciate the process of creating it.

I play guitar. Write lyrics. Record, edit, mix down. Upload. Publicize. Market. Perform.

But I do other things, too. Talk with students about academic plans and financial aid; life struggles and barriers to success. Write letters of recommendation. Visit various schools to meet with colleagues, parents, and students. Sometimes, I go to funerals. Grieve. Work on my blog. Take hikes. Watch movies. Look at art. Meet new friends. Cook. Write letters. Take photographs. Read books. [Just finished Bruce Feiler’s Learning to Bow (1991). It was okay. I prefer Will Ferguson’s Hitching Rides With The Buddha, originally titled Hokkaido Highway Blues: Hitchiking Japan (1998). Ferguson’s biting tone and razor-sharp wit bring me to my knees and leave me begging for more.]

One thing is clear: healthy, delicious, homemade food makes you play guitar better. It’s a proven, scientific fact.

Here’s a recipe for a soup that Cheryl made yesterday.

WARNING: For best results, this recipe should be followed while listening to Miles Davis: “Relaxin’ With The Miles Davis Quintet” and The Winton Kelly Trio/Wes Montgomery: “Smokin’ At The Half Note”. Extra delicious flavor will be imparted to the soup if you’re listening to these recordings on vinyl.

Garlicky tortellini, spinach and tomato soup with Italian sausage

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter

6-8 garlic cloves (we use 20)

1 quart chicken broth

14 oz dried tomato

6 oz fresh or frozen cheese tortellini

10 oz fresh spinach (stemmed and chopped)

8-10 chopped basil leaves

parmesan cheese

  1. Brown the ground italian sausage or links.
  2. Saute garlic in butter for 2 minutes.
  3. Add broth and bring to a boil.
  4. Add Italian sausage.
  5. Add tortellini and cook 5 minues.
  6. Add tomato w/juice.
  7. Cook until the pasta is tender.
  8. Add spinach and basil. Cook until wilted. (1-2 minutes)
  9. Serve with fresh grated parmesan.
1 Comment

Filed under About

One response to “Guitars, amplifiers, and soup

  1. Texas J

    I’m gonna try this. Sounds wonderful. BTW you sure write lots of letters. I think you mentioned that two or three times above. I personally prefer the monotonous grind. Well I don’t actually prefer it, as it just seems to happen a lot, but when I do get to do something different and “balanced”, I appreciate it all the more. Like the off chance that I will get to kill an innocent, unsuspecting animal in the woods. “Oh well, ‘Chop wood carry water. ‘ ” Right? Maybe I’ll just express myself here instead.

Leave a Reply

