Self care for musicians (and other human beings)

Yesterday I headed for the hills.

Photo by Scott Kadera

A good friend and I spent the day hiking in the high desert. It was glorious. We talked about everything under the sun. We hiked about 7 miles, tromping through mud almost the whole way. Cleaning our boots in the patches of snow.

By the time we got back to the car, I was completely wiped out. Drove back into town (an hour +), picked up a pizza on the way home, and my dear partner and I ate and relaxed. At 6:15pm, I was ready for bed. Made myself stay up until about 8:30 or 9pm, then I was out like a light.

Scott took this one, too

I think one of the best gifts I can give anyone else is to focus on my own self-care. When I take good care of myself physically, mentally, spiritually, emotionally, then I’m better able to show up in each moment. More ready to actually listen to the other person. To be emotionally present.

And people can tell. They know if I’m only half-listening… If I’m actually working on music in my head or crunching numbers. So it really makes sense for me to be honest about those things when they’re going on. It’s not like I can hide it.

So today I’m working toward self-care. It’s the best gift I can give myself, and the best gift I can offer to those I love. And after enjoying some time in nature, blowing off steam, getting good exercise, eating healthy food, drinking lots of water, and getting a really good night’s sleep, I feel good. I feel like I have the resources to show up. That time away is an investment in myself and in my relationships with those around me.

It’s an investment in my music. Because when I spend too much time in the studio without exercise, my ability to write, record, compose, edit… my ability to do my art is affected.

How about you, Gentle Audiophile? How do you practice self-care, and how does it make you a better friend, spouse, artist?

Leave a comment

Filed under About

Leave a Reply

