Thirty Songs in Thirty Days

I’m truly blessed.

Somehow, I’ve created a life that allows me the time and space to express myself musically. I’m realizing, with every year that rolls by, that each day seems more and more precious. I’ve wasted so many of them in my life. That’s why during the month of July, I’m setting the goal of writing and recording thirty songs in thirty days. Okay, thirty-one days.

Now I have all the tools I need. My dream electric guitar and amp, my dream acoustic, my dream keyboard, and recording station. Well, there are plenty of improvements to my setup that I’m eager to make, but at this point, I have what I need. Time. Space. Tools. And the drive. At this point, I’m pretty much letting out the music that’s been percolating within for the past 11 months. Again, I do realize how fortunate I am. I know lots of people who would give an eye tooth for the opportunity to have the time, space, and tools to create their art.

"Flame" by Cheryl Birchard, 2010.Over the past 24 hours, I’ve spent 16.5 hours working on one song. Because I’ve had the luxury of having the house to myself for the past couple of days, I’ve been able to get up early in the morning, hit the recording studio, take short breaks throughout the day to eat food and drink water, and then dive right back in. Almost zero distractions–it’s been heaven. And this afternoon I pretty much wrapped it up. It makes the third song in two days. But more importantly, it marks a new level of technical creativity for me. (I’d be proud to share it with my heroes.)

The working title for my new album is “Call It Blue”.

I look forward to posting the album in its entirety here: http://www.timbirchard.bandcamp.com. I hope you’ll take time to check it out.

I also hope you enjoy creating something beautiful in your life today. The clock is ticking. Time’s running out. Today might be our last opportunity.

That final breath is definitely on its way. So I’m going to write like I’m on fire.

Peace, Tim

Leave a comment

Filed under About

Leave a Reply

