Setting Intention

The actual guitar that has come into my life: 1996 PRS CU24

“What you believe is who you become.” “Set the intention, and the universe will make it so.” “Do what makes your heart sing.”

I used to think it was all a bunch of hooey.

But what happens when you do it for long enough, and it comes true, piece by piece?

As I sit here drinking coffee on a gorgeous Sunday morning, sun shining on the snow-covered mountains, listening to a cd of songs that I’ve written and recorded over the past 8 years, my life having turned around and bounded head-on into a life of prosperity in so many ways, how can I possibly ignore or doubt the power of setting intention for one more day?

My relationships with other people… I finally (finally!) have started to learn that the most important relationship is that with myself. The closer I become to me, the more my connections with others thrive.

The guitar I set intention for: 1996 PRS CU24

My relationship with money… I’m finally starting to learn that, as Dave Ramsey says, money makes a fantastic servant and a lousy master. For most of my adult life, I’ve lived a life of deprivation consciousness. By turning it around, living in gratitude, and by starting to act like an adult instead of a child (demanding instant gratification at every turn) I’m starting to see how good it feels to live in peace.

And, of course, dear friends and loved ones have been teaching me along the way that it is, in fact, temporary. All of it. If I can see it, hear it, taste it, smell it, touch it, or think it, then it’s transient. Hollow. Temporary. That brings some relief, too.

The great thing is that there’s no shortage of homework in my life. I’m still selfish, short-tempered, egotistical, short-sighted, self-righteous, condescending, vengeful, impulsive… the list goes on. (Thank goodness for a sense of humor.)

Now I see that I can set intention in every part of my life. Each item on the Vision Board that hangs in our house gets checked off the list, month by month.

A good friend with whom I’ve recently reconnected put it best: whatever we think about opens an energetic connection that links us to it. So the people, places, things and activities I want to bring into my life are what I should hold in my mind’s eye. Everything else gets blessed and released.

Like Byron Katie says: I hope you get exactly what it is that you want in your life.

Tim

3 Comments

Filed under About

3 responses to “Setting Intention

  1. Miguel DeLeon

    Most excellent!!

  2. I, too, used to think it was a bunch of hooey until I stopped struggling to control my world and just asked the universe for what I wanted. Things began to fall in place, eerily so. But yes, it took being grateful for the gifts I have and not letting money be the barometer of success. Lovely post. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks, Mandy! It’s validating to hear that we have shared experiences.

      How have you and Andy been? Haven’t seen you in forever. Hope all is great for you guys. Cheryl and I are doing fantastic.

      How is your book coming along? When do I get to read a draft? I’m still very much looking forward to it, whenever you’re ready.

      Take it easy, Tim

Leave a Reply

