the subjectivity of song interpretation

My Baby Caught Me (Eating Chili in the Bathtub)

(words and music copyright Tim Birchard, 2010)

What’s this song about?

chili in the bathtub 2 mp3

Strained relations with family members?

Suicide?

An actual bowl of chili?

All I can say is that I did (I confess) sit in an actual bathtub and eat an actual bowl of chili. And it did, in fact, spill into the tub accidentally. And boy oh boy, did I ever have to clean up a nasty bathtub ring.

But all of that really has very little to do with how anyone interprets the song.

If it awakens anything within you, “good” or “bad”, happy or sad… if it’s caused anyone to feel

…then it was successful. What else can a writer, a painter, a singer, an architect ask for in this lifetime?

Lyrics:

Well I found her note on the table yesterday

She said, “I just can’t go on living life this way.”

I’ve tried to walk the straight and narrow every day

What did I do that could have made her go away?

Was it the time I lingered longer than I should?

Was it the time I said ‘your sister’s looking good’?

Was it the time I yelled at you for spilling nail polish on my hood?


My baby caught me eating chili in the bathtub

My baby caught me eating chili in the bathtub

Well, can you tell me what it happening to our love?

My baby caught me eating chili in the bathtub


That’s not what the bath is for

You even got some on the floor

What kind of luck did you think this would bring?

Who’s going to clean that greasy bathtub ring?

Tim's next guitar

 
Leave a comment

Filed under About

Leave a Reply

